NCEA News‎ > ‎

Call to Action NOW

posted Apr 5, 2011, 5:36 AM by Vice President NCEA

Friday, April 1, 2011

 

 Contact Members of the Judiciary Committee and Urge Them to Vote in Favor of

SB 1163 An Act Concerning Assault of a School Employee

 

Request that members of the Judiciary Committee support S.B. No. 1163 (RAISED) JUDICIARY. 'AN ACT CONCERNING ASSAULT OF A SCHOOL EMPLOYEE' which will allow (but not require) anyone who assaults a school employee to be charged with a Class D felony, or a Serious Juvenile Offense if the individual is a juvenile.

 

If your state senator or representatives serve on the Judiciary Committee (find out from the list below) please use these bullet points to write them an email.

 

Ask the members of the Judiciary Committee to:

  • Treat teachers with the same level of respect and legal protection as employees who already have this protection under current state law, such as DCF workers, probation officers, EMTs, firefighters, and police officers. Unlike these employees, teachers are not trained to deal with potentially dangerous physical confrontations, so shouldn't teachers be covered by this law as well?
  • Put Connecticut in line with the 39 other states that already have a law providing enhanced criminal penalties for assaulting a school employee.
  • Consider that concerns about teenagers being branded with Class D felony convictions are unwarranted.  The Juvenile Justice system does not recognize felonies or misdemeanors; respondents are convicted as delinquents whose records are subject to absolute erasure.  They are never given anything close to felony status. A conviction of delinquency, subject to absolute confidentiality, in no way endangers the right to vote or enlist in the armed services.  On the other hand, any adult who assaults a teacher who is acting in the performance of his or her duties as an educator, should face a felony charge.  Moreover, the passage of this bill will not increase the number of defendants in the judicial system in that the law does not create a new crime but merely provides enhanced penalties for an action that already is illegal.

 

Just in the last four years, there have been over 6,400 reported assaults on school employees. If you were the victim of an assault at school, tell your legislators your story so that they appreciate that these assaults are increasingly common.

If you would like to read testimony from CEA staff and members that was presented to the Judiciary Committee, click on the links below.

Ann Carone, Bridgeport teacher
Carmella Lorusso, Grievance Chair - Bridgeport
Cathy Delehanty, President - Greenwich

Robyn Kaplan-Cho, CEA
June Kozloski, Waterbury Teacher
Diane Baughn, Waterbury Teacher

 

 

Below is a list of the Judiciary Committee members.  Please contact those who are from your community or live near you.  Thank you for assisting in passing this important legislation.

 





JUDICIARY COMMITTEE




Rep. = Representative







R = Republican

Sen. = Senator







D = Democrat

Towns Representing

 

District Number

First Name

Last Name

Position

 

E-Mail Address

Barkhamsted(p), East Granby(p), Granby, New Hartford

Rep.

62nd

Bill

Simanski

Member

R

bill.simanski@housegop.ct.gov

Berlin, Farmington(p), New Britain

Sen.

6th 

Terry

Gerratana

Member

D

Gerratana@senatedems.ct.gov

Bethel(p), Danbury, New Fairfield, Sherman

Sen.

24th

Michael

McLachlan

Member

R

Michael.McLachlan@cga.ct.gov

Bloomfield(p), Burlington, Farmington(p), West Hartford

Sen.

5th 

Beth

Bye

Member

D

Bye@senatedems.ct.gov

Bloomfield(p), Hartford(p), Windsor(p)

Sen.

2

Eric

Coleman

Co-Chair

D

Coleman@senatedems.ct.gov

Bloomfield(p), Windsor(p)

Rep.

15th

David

Baram

Member

D

David.Baram@cga.ct.gov

Branford, Durham, Guilford, Killingworth, Madison, North Branford

Sen.

12th

Edward

Meyer

Member

D

Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov

Bridgeport(p)

Rep.

124th

Charles

Clemons

Member

D

Charles.Clemons@cga.ct.gov

Bridgeport(p)

Rep.

129th

Auden

Grogins

Member

D

Auden.Grogins@cga.ct.gov

Bridgeport(p), Stratford(p)

Sen.

23rd

Edwin

Gomes

Member

D

Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov

Bridgewater, Roxbury, Southbury(p), Washington

Rep.

69th

Arthur

O'Neill

Member

R

Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov

Bristol, Plainville, Plymouth, Harwinton(p)

Sen.

31st

Jason

Welch

Member

R

Jason.Welch@cga.ct.gov

Brookfield, Canaan, Cornwall, Goshen, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, New Milford, North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Torrington(p), Warren Washington, Winchester

Sen.

30th

Andrew

Roraback

Member

R

Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov

Cheshire(p), Hamden(p), Wallingford(p)

Rep.

103rd

Al

Adinolfi

Member

R

al.adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov

Cheshire(p), Wallingford(p)

Rep.

90th

Mary

Fritz

Member

D

Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov

Cromwell, Middletown(p), Newington, Rocky Hill, Wethersfield

Sen.

9th 

Paul

Doyle

Vice Chair

D

Doyle@senatedems.ct.gov

Cromwell, Middletown(p), Portland

Rep.

32nd

Christie

Carpino

Member

R

christie.carpino@housegop.ct.gov

Danbury(p)

Rep.

110th

Bob

Godfrey

Member

D

Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov

Danbury(p)

Rep.

109th

Joseph

Taborsak

Member

D

Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov

Derby(p), Orange(p), Woodbridge

Rep.

114th

Themis

Klarides

Member

R

Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov

East Hampton, Middletown(p)

Rep.

34th

Gail

Hamm

Member

D

Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov

East Haven(p)

Rep.

99th

James

Albis

Member

D

James.Albis@cga.ct.gov

Easton, Redding(p), Weston

Rep.

135th

John

Shaban

Member

R

john.shaban@housegop.ct.gov

Groton(p)

Rep.

41st

Elissa

Wright

Member

D

Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov

Hartford(p)

Rep.

3rd 

Minnie

Gonzalez

Member

D

Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

Hartford(p)

Rep.

4th 

Kelvin

Roldan

Member

D

Kelvin.Roldan@cga.ct.gov

Hartford(p), Wethersfield(p)

Sen.

7th 

John

Kissel

Ranking Member

R

John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov

Kent, New Fairfield(p), New Milford(p), Sherman

Rep.

108th

Richard

Smith

Member

R

richard.smith@housegop.ct.gov

Killingly(p), Plainfield(p), Sterling

Rep.

44th

Mae

Flexer

Member

D

Mae.Flexer@cga.ct.gov

Middletown(p)

Rep.

33rd

Joseph

Serra

Member

D

Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov

Monroe, Newtown(p)

Rep.

112th

DebraLee

Hovey

Member

R

DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov

Naugatuck(p), Oxford, Southbury(p)

Rep.

131st

David

Labriola

Member

R

David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov

New Canaan(p), Stamford

Rep.

147th

William

Tong

Member

D

William.Tong@cga.ct.gov

New Canaan(p), Wilton(p)

Rep.

125th

John

Hetherington

Ranking Member

R

John.Hetherington@housegop.ct.gov

New Haven(p)

Rep.

94th

Gary

Holder-Winfield

Vice Chair

D

Gary.Holder-Winfield@cga.ct.gov

New Haven(p)

Rep.

92nd

Patricia

Dillon

Member

D

Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov

New Haven(p)

Rep.

93rd

Toni

Walker

Member

D

Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov

New London(p)

Rep.

39th

Ernest

Hewett

Member

D

Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

Norwalk(p)

Rep.

140th

Bruce

Morris

Member

D

Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov

Norwich(p)

Rep.

46th

Melissa

Olson

Member

D

Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov

Southington(p), Wolcott

Rep.

80th

Robert

Sampson

Member

R

rob.sampson@housegop.ct.gov

Stamford(p)

Rep.

146th

Gerald

Fox

Co-Chair

D

Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov

Trumbull(p)

Rep.

123rd

T.R.

Rowe

Member

R

TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov

Waterbury(p)

Rep.

73rd

Jeffrey

Berger

Member

D

Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

West Hartford(p)

Rep.

20th

Joe

Verrengia

Member

D

Joe.Verrengia@cga.ct.gov

Comments